Music to my Ears

It is a question we’ve probably asked one another many times, and is often a bone of contention in many office environments – but what music, if any, do you listen to when working or studying?

Over the years I’ve dabbled and tried so many different music styles and genres to try and find what music I get on with best when tapping away at the keyboard typing up reports, or trawling through research papers, trying to concentrate on understanding some complex or bizarre subject matter.  One thing that I know for certain is that I cannot listen to music with strong lyrical presence as I find it too distracting, and often want to start singing along.  During those moments I know I’m not focussed on my work, but instead getting invested in the song to the detriment of everything else.

I decided to therefore start listening to instrumental pieces or lyric-less tunes where the music could just exist in the background without drawing me into concentrating on the words of the song rather than those on the page in front of me.  For some reason this evolved into me listening to trance music – the uplifting and euphoric nature of trance music had me feeling very positive and enthusiastic about what I was doing, but met my criteria of no lyrics.  However, after a while the never ending, fast paced beats do begin to resonate in your head even long after the speakers have been switched off.

I then started listening to piano music by Ludovico Einaudi (www.ludovicoeinaudi.com) and Helen Jane Long (www.helenjanelong.com), both of whom are incredible pianists and music composers with some gorgeous tunes in their catalogues.  The music is incredibly relaxing and a great stress reliever – however, it is not to everyone’s taste in the office who want something a little more traditional…so that is usually when the headphones make a slightly sulky appearance, mixed with mutterings and mumblings of no appreciation for quality!

However, just in the last week I have discovered a duo of composers with a music project called Random Forest based in London (www.randomforestmusic.com), and the tunes are incredible!  The music is not only inspiring and uplifting, but also varied enough so as to have some exceptional replay value.  I haven’t yet had any chance to see what my colleagues think, but I have noticed they have appeared on spotify a lot on various play lists.

You can have a listen to some of their tunes on their website, and I would encourage everyone to give them a try and see what you think…you may well be surprised!

I am always open to suggestions and recommendations though, so feel free to let me know of any other great artists or tunes that you come across!

Leave a Reply

